If you are like myself, I always seem to have more than enough tasks in my workflow that either I or others have presented to me. In your Workflow, you may filter these request by many fields such as Account, Item, Opportunity or Project to name a few.
The one that I find very useful is the “Unread” option, which allows only the workflows that have not been read to be selected. This way I make sure that I see them. Some of the many workflows in my system are delayed purposely until more information is received so that I may make a decision on the action.
Selecting the checkbox will only allow the display of those requests which have not opened.
If the checkbox is not displayed on your screen, use the customize icon to select.